Getting Personal…

…with gift-giving, that is!

With the holiday season fast approaching, I’ve been doing a lot of thinking about gift-giving lately. I will admit, I tend to just give gift cards, scratch tickets or some other generic gift that takes no thought to put together.

But more and more, I’ve found that when I receive such standard gifts, I’m a little disappointed. I’d rather get a present that I might not necessarily love but that I know the giver put a lot of thought into choosing. It shows that the person truly cares and has made a sincere effort to find something I would enjoy.

As such, I’ve been trying to give these kinds of gifts to my friends and family for their recent birthdays, and now I’m planning to for Christmas as well.

I start by planning ahead. I look at my calendar and see who has a birthday coming in the next few months. That way, when I’m out shopping anyways, I can keep my eye out for something that stands out as the perfect gift.

My new favorite thing for personalized gifts, however, is online shopping! My go-to sites?
20131112-092332.jpg
1. Etsy is an online marketplace where individual artists can sell their own products. As a big supporter of small businesses, I love this site. There’s everything from clothing to jewelry and accessories to personalized stationery. They even have an app for easy browsing on your phone!

2. Pinterest also takes some searching, but has great ideas for DIY gifts and unique places to shop. If you’re looking for craft ideas, Pinterest is a great place to check. See my Pinterest for some ideas if you need a starting point.

3. Amazon certainly has something for everyone. It can be a little overwhelming because there are so many options, but if you have an idea of what you’re looking for, then you’ll be able to find it for sure! What I like to do is add things to my cart ahead of time and keep an eye on it to see if the price drops, so I can get the best deal.

Have any other great gifting sites? Be sure to share — ’tis the season!

One thought on “Getting Personal…

  1. Pingback: DIY: Fleece Tie Blankets | Broke But Loving It

Leave a Reply

