DIY: Fleece Tie Blankets

As I mentioned not too long ago, I’ve been really into giving unique and personal gifts lately. One gift that really started this for me is one I received from my aunt a few years ago – a fleece tie blanket.

This was pretty much the ultimate in personalized presents. She was able to make me a blanket in my favorite colors but it didn’t take a crazy amount of time to do like some crafts. And even better, I use it all the time! This is now one of my favorite gifts to give – and my friends are always asking for one of their own!

What is a fleece tie blanket? How do you make it? Is it really that easy? Read on to learn how to make your very own custom blanket!

20131126-105556.jpg
A fleece tie blanket is exactly what it sounds like – two sheets of fleece tied together along the edges to make an extra-warm and unique blanket. All it takes is a few simple steps…

1. Go to your local fabric or craft store to buy some fleece. You’ll need two different patterns. I personally like to pick one fun print and then one plain color that is within the print but two of either works as well! You’ll want 2.5-3 yards of each fleece.
Tip: Check for coupons before you go. Fleece can sometimes get pricy but I’m usually able to find some decent markdowns if I remember to check first!

2. Match up the corners of the fleeces and lay them out on a flat surface.

3. Cut the edges of the fleece, all the way around. I usually cut 1-1.5 inches wide and 3-4 inches down to make for easy tying.
Tip: Tie a few pieces together on each side so it doesn’t come apart if you pick it up.

4. Tie each piece all the way around the blanket. I recommend double knotting so they don’t come loose.

And voila – You have yourself your very own custom blanket!

Still have questions on how it works? Let me know and I’d be happy to help!

2 thoughts on “DIY: Fleece Tie Blankets

  1. Pingback: Secret Santa Gift Ideas | Broke But Loving It

  2. Pingback: Yankee Swap Gift Ideas | Broke But Loving It

Leave a Reply

