The Wonders of Photobooks

One of my biggest challenges every year is buying gifts for the males in my life – father, brother, boyfriend. They’re simultaneously picky and easy-going so it’s tough to find the perfect present that I know they’ll love.

Last year, I decided to do something different for my dad. We had recently gone on a private tour of Fenway Park, home of his beloved Red Sox, and we’d taken tons of pictures as we explored the behind-the-scenes areas of the ballpark. I wanted to give him something to commemorate this fun day of family time, but I just don’t have the patience to sit down and make a scrapbook by hand.

So I took to the internet looking for alternatives, which is how I learned about these fabulous things called photo books, where you could put together a high-quality, hard-bound book of your favorite photos. Amazing! After trying a few different platforms, I stumbled upon mixbook.com and fell in love.

I’ve now made a few books with Mixbook, and I love it! Thinking of making a photo book yourself? Try some of these tips…

20131203-133423.jpg

1. Find the platform that works best for you. I liked Mixbook out of all those that I tried, but something else might work better for you!

2. Try to have a general idea of how you want the book to be laid out, and organize your pictures as such. For example, I did a book for my 2 week trip to London and before I started, I organized my pictures by day to make it easier to put together.

3. Check for coupons before you order! These books can get a little pricy, but there’s usually some kind of deal floating around. I once found one for 40% off my order!

4. I’d recommend using a subtle color for the page backgrounds. You don’t want it to overpower your photos, but plain white can be a little too stark and sterile.

Have you tried any photo book sites? Which did you like best?

Leave a Reply

