Recommended Reading: Before I Go to Sleep

20131202-124940.jpg

If you’re looking for a bit of a thriller full of twists and unexpected endings, Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson is the perfect book for you.

I wasn’t exactly sure what to think when I first borrowed this e-book from my local virtual library (to learn more about that, click here). As I might have mentioned before, I’m a total hopeless romantic so trashy romance novels make up the majority of my reading. Which meant that this book was a bit out of my comfort zone, but I’m so glad that I tried it!

To give a little overview without revealing too much, the main character, Christine, wakes up one day with no recent memories. She learns from Ben, who says he is her husband, that she was involved in an accident nearly twenty years ago that left her with both short and long term memory loss. She is unable to retain any memories from the day before once she goes to sleep.

Christine tentatively accepts Ben’s explanation, but once he is at work, she finds a journal hidden in the closet. Written on the very first page are the words “DON’T TRUST BEN”. It turns out Christine has been keeping a daily journal the last few weeks and the entries she reads leave her confused as to who she can really trust and it’s up to her to save herself.

I read this novel in one sitting and truly did not want to put it down. It’s definitely a book that keeps you guessing and leaves you questioning your own gut instincts. I absolutely recommend this book to someone who is interested in a psychological thriller that leads you to question your own black and white definition of right and wrong.

Oh, and something I just learned — this book will be released as a movie next year, starting Nicole Kidman and Colin Firth. Can’t wait!

Have you read this or any other great thrillers? As I always say, I am constantly on the hunt for a new book!

2 thoughts on “Recommended Reading: Before I Go to Sleep

  1. Pingback: Best reads this year! | Lettie Buxton

  2. Pingback: Recommended Reading: Defending Jacob | Broke But Loving It

Leave a Reply

