Different Degrees of Business Casual

Between my two college internships and my current job, I’ve been exposed to many different degrees of the “business casual” dress code. The one thing I’ve definitively learned is that business casual can mean completely different things depending on what company you’re discussing.

So how do you dress appropriately for your first days at a new job? I have some tips that have helped me in the past:

1. Scope out what employees are wearing when you go on-site for an interview. This will help you get an idea of what is expected.
2. If you receive an employee manual before you start, be sure to check there. Most companies explicitly state what their expected dress code is right in the manual.
3. It is always better to be overdressed than underdressed, especially when you are making a first impression!

My current company is fairly strict with their dresscode, but I’ve quickly learned that I don’t have to stick to drab outfits with no personality. You can still stand out and express yourself, as long as you keep the boundaries in mind!

What do I wear to work most days? Well thanks to the fun site Polyvore, I’ve come up with a few options to show you!

20140115-225450.jpg

– I like to mix a neutral with a fun print or color to make the outfit pop a little.
– Jewelry or scarves are a good way to change up an otherwise plain outfit.
– Heels are definitely ok to wear to the office, but nothing too
high. I’d say about 3 inches max!
– Keep an eye on how things fall when you’re wearing them. You don’t want your shirt to be too revealing if you lean forward or your skirt to hike up when you sit down.
– Layers are great for the office…it seems like the temperature is always either too hot or too cold in my cube!

Have any workwear advice to share? What’s your interpretation of “business casual”?

One thought on “Different Degrees of Business Casual

  1. Pingback: 5 Tips On Dressing For A Successful Interview - Rabid Office Monkey for Business

Leave a Reply

