Home Gym Essentials: Kettlebells

Staying fit is something that every young woman should make a priority. However, the costs of fitness can add up very quickly. While a gym membership can be great if you like the social interaction and workout classes, for some people it might be a more effective idea to set up a small home gym.

Personally, a home gym is quickly becoming a more appealing option for me. I don’t have a lot of spare time and when I do, it’s at sporadic times. I also prefer to work out on my own, rather than in a group or surrounded by strangers. Having realized this more and more, I’ve been building up my own collection of small but multi-functional pieces of exercise equipment. This way I can do a variety of workouts, in my own time and in the privacy of my own home.

One of my newest additions to my mini-home gym is a 10lb kettlebell. I had seen and heard lots about kettlebells, but hadn’t really tried them out for myself. I didn’t quite understand what all of the hype was about, but now that I’ve done some research (thank you Pinterest and YouTube!), I can definitely see the benefits.

20140205-214938.jpg

What are the perks of kettlebellsThe exercises you can do with them combine both strength training and cardio. The handle allows for movements such as swinging and hand transitions. This makes for a full body workout, as you can engage your arms, abs and legs while getting your heart pumping. However, since you typically use a heavier kettlebell than you would choose for a free weight, you need to be sure to use the proper technique to avoid accidental injury. Once you get the hang of it, kettlebells can be a fast, fun and effective workout!

One thing to keep in mind is that kettlebells, like any workout equipment, can get a bit expensive. It’s important to shop around and find a kettlebell that’s both of a decent quality and not ridiculously overpriced. I looked around in several stores and online to make sure I understood what price range I was looking at. I ended up settling on one I found at Marshall’s for a great price of just $10. I’m glad I kept shopping around – otherwise I could’ve ended up spending twice as much!

Are you a fellow kettlebell fan? What are your favorite moves?

2 thoughts on “Home Gym Essentials: Kettlebells

Leave a Reply

