Your Twenties

As someone who doesn’t enjoy lectures, I’ve never been one to watch TED talks, but when someone forwarded me Meg Jay’s discussion “Why 30 is not the new 20”, I was riveted. Check it out below if you haven’t seen it!

One of my greatest struggles in being a recent college grad is trying to find “my place”. I’ve kept putting off making important decisions, especially in my career, thinking that I have plenty of time to figure it all out. But as Meg Jay eloquently points out, I shouldn’t take this time for granted. I have the chance to make choices that will have exponential impact.

Rather than being overwhelmed by the choices and challenges I have to face, I need to have the courage to go after what I want. Rather than overanalyze everything that could go wrong, I need to take a leap of faith and try something new. Rather than blowing off networking as something I don’t need to bother with, I need to build the relationships that will position me to succeed, not hold me back.

To all my fellow twenty-somethings: what are you going to do to make sure your twenties matter?

As Meg Jay signed off with, “You’re deciding your life right now” – Go for it!

For more TED talks, check out their listing here.
ted

Leave a Reply

