Review: Primal Instincts Palette

In terms of makeup, I usually go with just the basics. I don’t have the artistic talent or the patience required to put together a fancy finished product. Concealer, bronzer, eyeshadow and mascara – that’s my usual routine.

Since I don’t use much makeup, I’ve never really invested a lot into my makeup. No fancy name brands in my makeup drawer! But one day, I had some time to spare before meeting some friends for dinner, so I wandered into the Sephora next door. For a budget conscious girl like myself, the prices seemed a little high to me, especially since I keep my makeup routine low key. But I came across a pretty palette that was on sale – $15!

20140321-134143.jpg

Sephora’a Primal Instinct Palette includes mostly tan and brown neutrals, with some splashes of color and sparkle. These colors might not work best for everyone, but for a blue-eyed gal like myself, these shades are my usual go-to.

Pros
Though there is a wide variety of colors, the colors all blend pretty well together. This gives you a lot of options when deciding on your look! It’s a lot easier than trying to find individual colors that blend together on their own. There is also a mirror within the case, so this is a handy kit to bring when you’re on the move.

Cons
Some of the colors come out darker than you expect when applying the shadow, so keep that in mind. The sparkles are also a bit too shimmery for my taste. There’s no brush or even space for a brush, so if you do take it on the go with you, you either have to remember to bring a brush or use your fingers.

Overall, I think it’s a pretty good kit, especially for the sale price I paid. My suggestion would be to try out the colors on a tester if possible to make sure that shades suit you well.

Anyone have any Sephora products they love? Or eyeshadow palettes they’d suggest?

;

2 thoughts on “Review: Primal Instincts Palette

  1. I really like the Naked 2 pallette, it was a bit pricey, but I do use it all the time! I really like the one you got, and getting a sale item is always a bonus!

    • I keep seeing the Naked 2 palette all over Pinterest so it’s great to hear someone recommend it! Maybe that’ll be my next big beauty purchase – I love how easy having a palette makes things!

Leave a Reply

