Twitter: My New Favorite #News Source

My friends like to joke that I like to know everything about everything. And in a way, that’s true. I dislike being out of the loop or not being able to join a discussion because I don’t know enough about the topic. Working full time, however, has left me with a lot less time to stay on top of current events.

I don’t have time to sift through articles to find out the details of the major events going on in my community and around the world, which I feel is a pretty common issue for my generation. We want the important details laid out in front of us as soon as they’re happening.

Twitter has quickly become my new favorite source for news. Reporters as well as regular folks like me are constantly posting updates about any important events going on. The 140-character limit works in posters’ favor, as you can get the facts out quickly to a large crowd. Yes, many news tweets have links attached to them, which I do read occasionally, but just scrolling through my feed can give me a general idea of what I want to know.

I personally follow several individuals who tweet what’s going on in the greater Boston area, where I live. They send out tweets about everything from traffic issues to crimes to local events. I’ve found this to be invaluable when I’m trying to find out what’s going on around me locally.

In addition, when a national or global event is occurring, I usually search within Twitter to get the facts rather than searching various news sites. This way I can get a well-rounded description of what’s going on and decide whether to read more about what’s going on.

I still check out various news sites when I can, but for in the moment information, Twitter is definitely my go to site for news.

Do you use Twitter as a news source? Who do you like to follow to get the scoop on what’s going on?

Leave a Reply

