Home Gym Essentials: Dumbbells

While gyms offer a lot of equipment and workout options, sometimes I just don’t have time to make it to the gym after a long day at the office. On those days, I prefer to do a quick workout at home instead. As I mentioned in a previous post, I have been slowly building a small home gym full of my favorite workout equipment to make quick workouts an easy thing to accomplish.

Some of my favorite items in my little home gym are my dumbbells, which are also called free weights. Dumbbells are great because they are relatively small (at least for me, since I use low weights!) but can be used in a large variety of exercises.

20140428-130541.jpg
(source)

Although kits like the one pictured above are great, they can be a bit expensive. I suggest shopping around to see what you can find. I also only use two different weights for most of my exercises, so a kit isn’t necessary for me. Instead, I purchased individual pairs of weights and have added to my collection when I need a higher weight. I suggest checking out the dumbbell collections at Marshall’s, Target or Sears – that’s where I’ve gotten all of mine in the last and the prices have always been reasonable.

Pinterest and YouTube both have great easy and free workouts that can help tone your arms as well as other areas!

Do you use dumbbells for your at-home workouts? What are your favorite exercises?

Leave a Reply

