Pinterest: My New Recipe Book

One of the best parts of being a college graduate and moving back home has been having a full-sized kitchen again. In college, I was lucky if I had a stove top and a plate-sized amount of counter space. As you can imagine, I didn’t do much cooking during my undergraduate years and this didn’t have much of a need for new recipes.

Over the last year, however, I’ve found myself wanting to expand my culinary skills and try out new recipes. While my mom has lots of cookbooks, I’m a visual person, at least when it comes to cooking. I like to see what the final product will look like before I pick a recipe to try. Since most cookbooks only have pictures for some of their recipes, this isn’t my ideal choice.

I think it’s pretty obvious that I have a love for Pinterest. I love poking around to see fun craft ideas or wardrobe inspirations. But lately, my favorite thing about Pinterest has been the thousands of recipes they have!

20140509-140621.jpg

Since Pinterest is visually based, it’s a perfect place to browse for recipes. You can choose the broad “Food and Drink” category, or search for more specific recipe ideas.

Pinterest also recently underwent an update, so now you can search more key words and have often-associated words and phrases suggested for you, making your searching even easier. For example, when I search “dinner recipes”, suggestions such as healthy, easy, for two, for family, etc. appear at the top of my app. It’s a great way to narrow down the thousands of results to a more specific idea you’re interested in.

Now when I’m in the mood for a new drink mix or cookie recipe, I just search Pinterest. There are just so many different recipes on there, there’s something for everyone – even a picky gal like me!

What’s your favorite Pinterest recipe? I think mine so far is the Moscato Spritzer I posted about in my first few months of blogging – delicious!

Leave a Reply

