Review: Old Navy Credit Card

Back in the day (and by that I mean senior year in high school), I had a part-time job at Old Navy. It was a great way to earn some extra cash, and the discount was great because Old Navy is owned by Gap, which also owns Banana Republic, Athleta and Piperlime, which meant I got a discount at each of those stores!

During my time there, I learned quite a lot about the Old Navy Card, which is the store credit card they offer to customers. A few years later, it became my first credit card when I realized I needed to start earning some credit before I graduated college. I’ve had the card for a few years now, so I thought I would share my thoughts with my fellow bargain-lovers…

20140523-133721-49041223.jpg

The Old Navy Card has pretty standard rates and rewards. APR depends on your credit, but like most store cards, it’s higher than a traditional credit card. You earn 1pt/dollar spent, with 200 points earning you a $5 reward certificate, redeemable in-store or online.

Pros
•Great “starter card” for someone trying to build credit. The limits are generally pretty low (under $1,000) unless you have excellent credit. This is why I originally got the card; I’d make small purchases every few months and pay them off quickly to establish a good pattern of timely payment.

•Additional rewards. While Old Navy often has different sales and discounts circulating, cardholders receive additional discounts for purchases made with the card.

•Can be used at other stores owned by Gap, Inc. Unlike other cards where you’re restricted solely to that store, being able to use the card at any store under the Gap umbrella gives you more flexibility to earn rewards.

•Accepts “mobile” coupons. Some other stores require you to have the printed out coupon, but Old Navy allows you to pull up your email or even a screenshot from your online account, which means you can maximize your savings.

•10% Tuesdays. I always forget about this feature, but cardholders save an additional 10% on Tuesdays when using their cards. This was a nice surprise for me earlier this week!

Cons
•Online platform is not very user-friendly. Maybe I’m just being picky, but I’m not at all a fan of the online site for cardholders.

•No card-specific mobile app. Again, could just be me, but I would prefer to have an app where I can log into my account and make payments, download coupons, etc.

•Cannot pay the card in-store. Unlike some other store cards, you can’t make payments right in store. You have to pay online, or by mail/phone.

Having had the card for a few years now, I would recommend it to someone who shops somewhat regularly at Old Navy. It has decent rewards and can get you some great discounts.

Do you have an Old Navy Card? Or what store cards do you have that you’d recommend?

Leave a Reply

