Recommended Reading: Orange is the New Black

I recently joined a book club hosted by the alumnae chapter of my sorority. The selected book for my first time was Orange is the New Black by Piper Kerman. While this isn’t a book I would have chosen to read on my own, in the end I’m glad that I did.

20140613-065045-24645602.jpg
(Source)

Most of you have probably heard of Orange is the New Black, the Netflix original series that began last year. But I’m sure many of you, myself included, didn’t realize that it was based on a memoir by the same name.

I’ll start off by saying, it wasn’t the most well written book I’ve ever read. It was clearly written by Piper Kerman herself. This is good in that you truly get her perspective. But it was difficult at times because the story would seem disjointed. It was essentially a series of anecdotes in a semi-consecutive order.

But despite any issues with the structure of the book, I truly enjoyed reading it. This is a topic I’ve never really explored before – what life in prison is really like, especially for women. Piper’s story is fascinating and it opened my eyes to a lot of new and different things.

I haven’t yet watched the show, but from talking in book club, it seems the show is very different from the book. There are some show characters you can recognize from the book. I would say that the book served more as an inspiration for the show than as an exact basis for it.

Have you read Orange is the New Black? What did you think of it?

Leave a Reply

