Recommended Reading: The Fault in Our Stars

Reading the book before seeing the movie has become quite a habit of mine. And while I’ve yet to see the movie version of The Fault in Our Stars (aka TFiOS on the interwebs), I was drawn in by the previews and decided to borrow the novel from my e-library and get to reading.

Now I will admit, I am not one to read books about people with serious illnesses. This probably stems from my over-emotional personality. I can’t read or watch a TV show/movie about an illness I’ve been personally affected by without being moved to tears. Case in point: crying over A Walk to Remember on Lifetime last night.

But I decided to put on my big girl pants, grab a couple tissues and dive into TFiOS, and boy am I glad I did.

20140714-114132-42092186.jpg(source)

Within the first few pages, I fell in love with John Green’s writing style. Something about it just resonated with me and I immediately felt a connection with the main character Hazel. Her spunky, realistic and yet optimistic point of view was refreshing and drew me in.

Reading this book also gave me insight into different perspectives on life and relationships. Seeing characters overcome the cards they’ve been dealt in order to make the most of whatever time they have really made me think about what my priorities are and reconsider what is really important.

I’ve tried not to reveal too much here, as this book took many unexpected turns, but I will say that I definitely recommend reading it! Yes, it will be an emotional journey, but it is absolutely worth it. I can’t wait to read it again soon!

Have you read The Fault in Our Stars? What did you think?

Leave a Reply

