Hummus Dip

When it comes to cookouts, desserts are usually my thing. So when a friend asked me to bring an appetizer instead, I was a little unsure of what I should bring. I knew I didn’t want to bring a “hot” appetizer, since I wasn’t sure if there would be room in the oven. So I searched Pinterest for an idea, and came across a great hummus dip recipe!

IMG_1822.JPG

This recipe is great because you can tailor it to your own tastes! The basic premise is hummus (homemade if you’ve got a good recipe or store-bought, like I did) with a variety of chopped veggies on top. It’s a simple dish but is a little different than the traditional salsa and Tostitos that everyone always seems to go for.

Recipe:

1 10 oz. package of hummus. I used Sabra and since I needed to make a double batch, I got a plain one and the super spicy flavor. Both worked well!

Chopped Vegetables – whichever you prefer! I used (pre-chopped) onions, grape tomatoes, cucumbers and yellow, green and red peppers (also pre-chopped). The original recipe I found suggested olives and avocados, but I had trouble finding them since it was the weekend and the grocery store was packed. You could even try sprinkling some feta cheese or shredded Parmesan to add some more flavor.

Pita chips, toasted pitas, pretzel chips, etc. – for dipping!

Simplicity is key for me when I’m preparing for a last minute BBQ, which is why I was drawn to this recipe. It doesn’t take long to prepare but it isn’t something that most people think to bring, so you don’t have to worry about someone else showing up with the same thing!

Enjoy! 🙂

Leave a Reply

