Simple Ways to Save

Next month, I’ll be moving out of my parents house and into an apartment with my lovely boyfriend. As excited as I am to be moving in together (finally!), I know money will be tighter now that I actually have to pay for groceries, rent, etc. So I’ve been brainstorming some simple ways to save money and thought I’d share my ideas…

2015/01/img_2832.jpg

Borrow books instead of buying them
If you have a kindle or any kind of tablet, you should see if you’re local library allows you to borrow ebooks. You might even be able to borrow books from other cities in your state. I can borrow from the Boston Public Library even though I live outside the city!

Use coupons whenever possible
My favorite thing to do lately is to see if a store has an app. Many stores do and you can find all kinds of coupons and savings you wouldn’t know about otherwise! Also consider setting up a separate email just for coupons. That way you don’t have junk mail clogging your inbox, but you still get all of the great deals!

Comparison shop
Especially for big purchases! Take the time to check out a few different stores or sites to find the best price possible. Do this in conjunction with a coupon for even bigger savings.

Tupperware, not Ziplock bags
Who knew Ziplock bags were so expensive? A few bucks for a box of 20 can add up when you’re using two or three each day for lunch. Take a few minutes out of your day to wash some reusable containers instead and you’ll instantly start saving.

Reusable water bottle
I go through SO many water bottles since I drink a lot of water each day. So instead I got a super cute faux mason jar cup with a straw for my desk at work. This way I can still stay hydrated without paying extra for it.

What are your favorite little ways to save? A few dollars here and there really adds up quick!

One thought on “Simple Ways to Save

Leave a Reply

